Any treasure hunters here?

Where folks can talk about quiltmaking, candlecasting, embroidery, needlepoint, metal detecting, card collecting, etc
MI redneck
Ensign
Ensign

Plank owner

Tempus fugit

Any treasure hunters here?

Post by MI redneck »

Anyone else here an amateur treasure hunter?

Dirt fishers, Relic hunters, Beach pirates, Thrift store hounds, Bottle dump diggers, Gold and Silver seekers, Coin roll hunters, Magnet fishers, Scrappers, Precious metal recovery, Change under the couch cushion types?

Tell us about your hobby, equipment, finds, tips or tricks.

I've been dabbling in metal detecting and magnet fishing for a couple of years and I've found more than my share of junk, but have found some pretty cool, valuable and useful things as well.

A big part of my interest is local history, as well as trying to put together the story behind a find, "How did this end up here?".

"Treasure" is everywhere, if you care to seek it. It's even as easy as checking the rejection bin of a CoinStar machine. Hint: They generally reject Silver coins, and quite a few users assume anything in the rejection bin is worthless.

I'll add some some suggestions, tips and pics in the near future. In the meantime, tell us about your treasure hunting hobby!
nalioth
Site Admin

Plank owner

Tempus fugit

Re: Any treasure hunters here?

Post by nalioth »

Couch cushions, eh?
MI redneck
Ensign
Ensign

Plank owner

Tempus fugit

Post by MI redneck »

nalioth wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:23 amCouch cushions, eh?
It's only mildly rewarding, but it's pretty "low impact". :D
chillypepper
Ensign
Ensign

Tempus fugit

Post by chillypepper »

I'm a metal detecting fool. Bought a $300 detector have about $1000 into hotroding it. Just so I can go find rusty old crap.

Sorry I fucked that up the first 12 times. I finnaly figured something out.
Last edited by chillypepper on Sun Mar 21, 2021 9:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
chillypepper
Ensign
Ensign

Tempus fugit

Post by chillypepper »